Contact Information

Board of County Commissioners
500 Court Street, Suite A
Defiance, Ohio 43512

Ryan Mack, Commissioner
Mick Pocratsky
, Commissioner
Gary L. Plotts, Commissioner

Sherry Carnahan
Administrator/Finance Manager

Stephanie Metz

Lanie Lambert
Human Resource/Financial Deputy Clerk

Emily Meyer
Receptionist Deputy Clerk

P: (419) 782-4761
F: (419) 782-8449

Office Hours:
Monday - Friday
8:00 AM to 4:30 PM
Closed Saturday, Sunday & Legal Holidays

Defiance County Board of Commissioners


The Board of County Commissioners is the policy making and legislative body of this County. It is the County government's taxing, budgeting, appropriating and purchasing authority and holds title to County property. The Board is also responsible for hearing and ruling on annexations, approving drainage improvements through the petition ditch process, and making improvements and providing for solid waste disposal.

With the exception of Summit and Cuyahoga Counties, all Ohio counties have three county commissioners: two are elected at the time of the presidential election and one is elected at the time of the gubernatorial election. The county commissioner elected at the gubernatorial election takes office on January 1, and the two elected at the presidential election take office on January 2 and 3. Candidates for these two commissioner positions must file for either the January 2 or 3 position.

Individual Commissioners have no power to act independently. The Board of County Commissioners act as a single body. All formal and official actions must have a majority or unanimous vote before they are passed.

The Board of Commissioners has direct oversight of several departments including:

  • Building and Grounds/Facilities – Maintenance
    • Courthouse
    • Courthouse Annex
    • Commissioner’s Annex
    • Defiance County East
    • Evergreen Lane Office Complex
    • Key Bank
    • Sheriff / 911
    • Sarah's House
    • EMA Building
    • Senior Centers in both Hicksville and Defiance
  • Child Support Enforcement Agency
  • Dog Warden
  • Environmental and Administrative Services
  • Family & Children First/Help Me Grow
  • Job & Family Services
  • Landfill
  • Public Safety Services
  • Records Center
  • Senior Services
  • Wastewater Operations

The organizational meeting of the Board of County Commissioners (ORC 305.05) occurs on the second Monday of January each year, when they must organize, elect a president and appoint a clerk. The Commissioners must hold at least 50 regular meetings per year (ORC 305.06) and as many special meetings as necessary to conduct their business. The salaries of Commissioners are established by state law, based on population.

Ryan Mack

Ryan Mack was elected Commissioner for the term commencing January 1, 2015.

A graduate of Tinora High School, Ryan has attended Kent State University majoring in political science. Memberships include Veterans of Foreign Wars, Farm Bureau, Disabled American Veterans, National Rifle Association and Defiance Area Fish and Game Association. Ryan spent six years in the United States Army with one tour in Afghanistan. After leaving the Army, Ryan spent 3 years working for Congressman Bob Latta as a District Representative in Defiance.

Born and raised in Defiance, Ryan enjoys spending time with his two children, Caroline and Henry. Ryan is looking forward to continuing his service to the people of our County as Defiance County Commissioner.

Mick Pocratsky

Mick Pocratsky was elected Commissioner for the term commencing January 2, 2017. Mr. Pocratsky graduated from Hicksville High School and also Defiance College with a degree in Criminal Justice. Prior to becoming Commissioner, Mick worked for Defiance County Juvenile Probation for 27 years, serving as Chief for five years. He also served on Hicksville Village Council for 20 years, holding the President seat for two years, and also served on the Parks Board for six years. Mick and his wife, Pam, are members of Gateway Chapel Church and reside in Hicksville. They have two adult children, Matthew and Toni, and one grandson, Elijah.

Gary L. Plotts

Gary Plotts was elected Commissioner for the term commencing January 3, 2017. Prior to becoming Commissioner, Mr. Plotts was a Deputy Sheriff with the Defiance County Sheriff’s Office for 15 years. While at the Sheriff’s Office, he was on the Dive Team and enjoyed being the D.A.R.E Officer for Defiance County the last five years of his career. Gary enjoys spending time with his family and attending sporting events. He looks forward to serving the citizens of Defiance County in his new position as County Commissioner.

Sherry Carnahan

Administrator / Finance Manager

The primary objective of this position, under the general direction of the Board of County Commissioners, is to oversee the general operations of Defiance County to include implementing the policies of the Board of County Commissioners. Duties include assisting the Board in preparing, administering, and monitoring operational appropriations budget; organizing and directing overall activities of departments under the jurisdiction of the Board of Commissioners; establishing and monitoring policies, practices and programs; and serve as an official County representative to provide information and act as a liaison between the Board of Commissioners, elected officials, department heads, employees and the public.

Sherry has worked for Defiance County since 1994. She worked two years for the Environmental Services Office and began working in the Commissioner’s Office in 1996 as the Fiscal Deputy Clerk. In May of 2013 she was promoted to the Finance Manager/Administrator’s position. She is a graduate of Northwest State Community College.  She resides in Ayersville with her husband Keith and they have two children, Shawn and Lizzy.

Defiance County prohibits discrimination in all its programs and activities on the basis of race, color, national origin, age, disability, and where applicable, sex, marital status, familial status, parental status, religion, sexual orientation or political beliefs. Defiance County is also an equal opportunity employer.

Site Developed by Theano Point.