Monday, January 23, 2017


The Board of Defiance County Commissioners met in regular session at 9:00 a.m. on Monday, January 23, 2017 in the Second Floor Conference Room of the Commissioners’ Session Room at 500 Court Street, Defiance, Ohio 43512. Commissioner Ryan Mack called the meeting to order.  Also present were Commissioners Gary Plotts and Mick Pocratsky, Sherry Carnahan, Finance Manager/Administrator, and Stephanie Metz, Clerk.


Ken Maag, Poggemeyer Design Group, met with the Commissioners to discuss 2017 sanitary engineering services. The Commissioners previously reviewed and ranked the qualifications submitted in the Request for Qualifications to be kept on file, and Poggemeyer Design Services was ranked the highest. During the meeting Mr. Maag submitted a proposal for these services.


The Commissioners met in General Session and approved and signed various resolutions, contracts and documents. The Commissioners also reviewed the calendar of events and discussed upcoming meetings.


Warren Schlatter, Defiance County Engineer, met with the Commissioners to provide a weekly update for the Engineer’s Office and Landfill. He reported that the Highway Department is working on tree removal and mowing with the boom.


The Investment Advisory Committee of Vickie Myers (Defiance County Treasurer), Amy Galbraith (Defiance County Clerk of Courts) and the Commissioners met for the Fourth Quarter Investment Advisory Meeting. Ryan Nelson, Redtree Investment Group, and Warren Schlatter, Landfill Manager, also attended the meeting. The Defiance County Investment Portfolio, Landfill Closure Portfolio and Post Closure Portfolio were approved.


Russ Herman, Defiance County Prosecuting Attorney’s Office, met with the Commissioners to provide an update on various pending and imminent legal matters.


The Commissioners attended the Four County Solid Waste District Board of Directors’ meeting and the Four County Joint Board meeting.



Release Approved:          ____________________________________________________         

                                         Ryan Mack, Defiance County Commissioner