Monday, January 8, 2018


The Board of Defiance County Commissioners met in regular session at 9:00 a.m. on Monday, January 8, 2018 in the in the Commissioners’ Session Room at 500 Court Street, Defiance, Ohio 43512. President Ryan Mack called the meeting to order.  Also present were Commissioners Gary Plotts and Mick Pocratsky, Sherry Carnahan, Finance Manager/Administrator, and Stephanie Metz, Clerk.


The Commissioners met in General Session and approved and signed various resolutions, contracts and documents. The Commissioners also reviewed the calendar of events and discussed upcoming meetings.


The Commissioners approved the following for Fiscal Year 2018:

•         Unappropriated:                           $     120,000.00

•         Interest:                                       $  1,331,059.92

•         Medicaid Local Sales Transition:   $     291,436.00

•         Special Funds Budget:                 $58,900,562.82.


The Commissioners designated the following representatives to some of the various boards, committees and commissions for 2018:

All 3 Commissioners

•         Defiance County Planning Commission

•         Defiance Paulding Consolidated Job & Family Services’ Board

•         Department of Justice (DOJ)

•         Four County Joint Board of Commissioners (Defiance/Fulton/Henry/Williams)

•         Four County Joint Solid Waste District (Defiance/Henry/Paulding/Williams)

•         Investment Advisory Committee

•         Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC)

•         Northwest Ohio Commissioners & Engineers Association


Commissioner Ryan Mack

•         Board of Revision

•         CCNO Board

•         CCNO Financial Overview Committee

•         CIC Board of Trustees

•         Defiance County Planning Commission Executive Council

•         Maumee Valley Planning Organization Executive Committee

•         Defiance County Records Commission

•         United Way - EFSP/FEMA

•         Revolving Loan Fund Committee


Commissioner Michael Pocratsky

•         Area Office on Aging

•         Community Corrections Planning Board

•         Family & Children First Council

•         Four County Joint Solid Waste District – Policy Committee

•         Maumee Valley Guidance Center Board of Directors

•         Northwest Juvenile Detention Center

•         Youth Workforce Committee

•         Nuisance Task Force Committee


Commissioner Gary Plotts

•         Area 7

•         E-911 Board of Directors

•         Maumee Watershed Steering Committee

•         Northwest Ohio Community Action Commission

•         Northwest Community Corrections Center – Facility Governing Board


Warren Schlatter, Defiance County Engineer, met with the Commissioners to provide a weekly update for the Engineer’s Office and Landfill. Warren also provided an update for 2017 for the Landfill operations. Warren reported sales of $4,510,554.40 from 533,486 cubic yards and 143,522.73 tons of waste.


Russ Herman, Defiance County Prosecuting Attorney’s Office, met with the Commissioners to provide an update on various legal matters.



Release Approved:          ____________________________________________________         

                                         Ryan Mack, Defiance County Commissioner